Oklahoma – where the snow comes sweeping cross the plains!

This is the first official entry in the Stay in the Saddle blog! Very exciting, but not much to report. . . as snow has covered and paralyzed northeastern Oklahoma this week. We received at our ranch somewhere in the neighborhood of 16-20 inches on Tuesday, and now it is falling again. Roads have been treacherous at best, and the horses are all on vacation. Breaking ice in tanks and putting out alfalfa are the highlights of my week as a horsewomen.

Normally, this is where you will read about my teaching experiences, students’ progress, and horse antics for the week. It should be informative, funny, confiming, life-changing, and many other adjectives that will describe your life as a horse-person. . . But in the meantime, while we thaw out, I’ll have to impress you with other stories or reach back into my memory catalog with other experiences and events.

Today as I watch the snow fall, I’m going to start with my kids: a bit of cabin fever, but behaving very well. Today, they have been riding their stickhorses around both with cowboy hats, belts, and boots – taking turns battling enemies, getting shot, and arguing sematics. They did, however, take a break in the middle of it all to “get married”, which involves dancing the waltz or something similar. 🙂 Since Wyatt has been out of school since Monday, we’ve been taking some time each day to do “homework”. Wyatt has a 1st grade workbook and Viv has a “pre-K” workbook in which they do 2-3 pages each day. Keeping Wyatt fresh and getting Viv in good practice, and of course I have to have a “goodie” bag as a bribe for good work (that’s what all the teachers do, I’m told).

On the outdoor front, as stated before, the horses are on vacation. I kept them all in for the blizzard, but when I let them out the next day they were thrilled! As I opened their stall gates, they waited til they got to the big overhead door and bolted for the bright outdoors. . . They were quickly slowed to a trot and then a walk as they experienced that deep, drifted snow. Deitz, my senior horse in the barn, decided it was too much trouble and returned to his stall. I let him in, but upon no one else came back in so then he wanted to try again. The pictures are of the horses. The flattest part of the snow was up to their knees, and there were drifts close to 4 feet high (or more?) in the southeast corner of the pasture.

Although it was very cold, we did have a couple of days of sun before this new round of snow. The sun was nice to see. Now, just waiting for it to reappear. The sooner, the better. And it would be even nicer for the sun to bring 60-70 degree temps with it!

Here’s dreaming of warm weather, and racing across open pastures free of snow on my favorite horse~ God Bless You!

About Stay in the Saddle

I am a horse enthusiast and riding instructor. This blog is to help other horsemen, and eventually post instructional video. Stay in the Saddle is here for YOU, the rider!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oklahoma – where the snow comes sweeping cross the plains!

  1. Lynne Wallace says:

    Janel, 

    Your DVD is excellent and is exactly what I had in mind! The information is clear and precise and the lessons are easy to understand. I really like observing the riders demonstrate each lesson. It’s also nice to see a variety of ages and each one’s level of experience. With me being not only a beginning rider, but a disabled rider as well (I have MS), I was afraid the instructions would be overwhelming. But it is not! In addition to riding, you’ve included all the basics, giving me a feeling of hope and self confidence that I’ll carry with me during my next lesson. The companion manual and T-shirt are awesome! Thank you so very much! So happy I found your site.

    Lynne

Leave a Reply

